Solid Waste Citizens Advisory Committee

In 1991, The Unified Government of Athens-Clarke County (ACC) created the Solid Waste Citizen Advisory Committee (SWCAC) to evaluate the community's solid waste management needs. The SWCAC is the only advisory board that has remained active since government unification occurred in 1991. Currently comprised of seven publicly active members, the SWCAC has had as many as 20 citizens on the committee in the past. The SWCAC continues to meet four times yearly to discuss the solid waste needs of Athens-Clarke County and is an excellent example of how local government and citizens can work together for a positive change.

Special Assignment:

The Citizens Solid Waste Advisory Committee has been tasked to develop a draft ordinance for presentation to the Mayor and Commission by the end of CY 2019 eliminating plastic bags and Styrofoam containers at points-of-purchase, including at least a 12 month phase-in timeline for community-wide education and distribution of alternative items. The committee should engage with retail and restaurant businesses to identify alternatives for their use of these products. They should also develop a timeline for elimination of these items at events on ACC public property.

Commissioner Andy Herod
Commissioner Patrick Davenport
Larry Dendy
Jere Bowden
Jared Harper
Michael Brugger
Abigail West
Staff Members:  Suki Janssen and Susan Lyon

SWCAC Meeting Schedule
  • Wednesday, February 17, 2021
  • Wednesday, May 19, 2021
  • Wednesday, August 18, 2021 
  • Wednesday, November 17, 2021