Keepin' It Clean Citizen

KACCB accepts nominations for the Citizen of the Year Award. This annual award recognizes a community member as an environmental steward of litter prevention and abatement or community greening/beautification. The award recipient will be recognized at the annual GreenFest Award Ceremony. Nominees must be a resident of Athens-Clarke County. Use our online nomination form,download a printable application PDF, or contact or (706)613-3501 x7861. The deadline for submissions is January 31st.
citizen of the year for webpage make a nomination

2018 Keepin’ It Clean Citizen of the Year - Lewis Shropshire

This year we are so very proud to be recognizing Lewis Shropshire as the 2018 Keepin' it Clean Citizen of the Year! 

Mr. Shropshire was nominated for his dedication to litter abatement and for selflessly contributing to the health and beauty of our community. His nominator said this about him, “Mr. Shropshire was an active member of the community who helped shape what Athens is today. He served as Mayor Pro Tem, served on City Council, founded the Classic City Rotary Club and served on the Athens Area Chamber of Commerce. These are all organizations that serve the Athens area and work with other groups, including KACCB, to improve the health and aesthetics of our town. For 22 years Lewis ran on Riverbend Parkway, picking up trash along the way. He inspired our entire neighborhood to pick up litter on our daily walks. He was an avid fisherman and hunter and clearly appreciated his time outside. Due to Riverbend Parkway's proximity to the river, his efforts kept an immeasurable amount of litter from reaching the water. He left an indelible impact on Athens. Dedication of the 2018 KACCB Citizen of the Year Award is just a small nod of gratitude compared to the wealth of service Lewis Shropshire dedicated to our community.”

Sadly, last November, Athens lost this wonderful community member, but in appreciation of his service to and love for Athens, we would like to present this award in his memory to his wife Pam Shropshire.

Past Citizen of the Year Winners:

2018    Lewis Shropshire
2017    Ken Taylor
2016    Minnie Craddick
2015    Geoffrey Tull
2014    Josh Koons
2013    Dan Lorentz
2012    Matthew Epperson
2011    Jared Harper
2010    Thomas Gosnell 

Honoring Lewis Shropshire at the GreenFest Awards Ceremony.

pam shropshire citizen of the year 2019