Do other cities have stormwater user fees?
There are approximately 1,500 municipalities across the country that have developed utilities to fund their stormwater management programs. Including Athens-Clarke County, more than 60 communities in Georgia have user fees that fund stormwater services. These communities include Columbia County, the City of Covington, the City of Decatur, DeKalb County, Douglasville-Douglas County, the City of Fayetteville, Gilmer County, the City of Griffin, and the City of Smyrna.

Show All Answers

1. What is stormwater and why does it need to be managed?
2. Why do I have to pay a stormwater utility fee?
3. What services are funded by money collected from the stormwater utility fee?
4. Who pays the fee?
5. How is the stormwater utility fee different from a tax?
6. Why isn't the stormwater utility fee just included on my monthly water bill?
7. I think my bill may be calculated too high, what should I do?
8. Do other cities have stormwater user fees?
9. Is gravel considered impervious surface?
10. What happens to my stormwater utility bill when I am no longer the property owner?
11. How can I apply for a utility fee credit?
12. Can I reduce my fee by controlling the runoff from my property?
13. My property has terrible drainage problems. Will the utility fee pay for drainage improvements on my property?
14. I saw someone dump something into a stormdrain. Who do I call?
15. How do I get a rain barrel?