Form of Government

Unified Government

The Athens-Clarke County Unified Government was formed in 1990 after a vote of the citizens of the former City of Athens and Clarke County to unify the two governments. The government's day-to-day operations are overseen by a manager appointed by the Mayor and Commission. There are 24 main departments, divisions, and offices under the managerial group.

The government is headed by an elected mayor and 10 elected commissioners from ten geographical districts. The Mayor and Commission's regular meeting is the first Tuesday of the month, and an agenda setting session is held on the third Tuesday of the month, both at 6:00 p.m. in City Hall. Both meetings are televised locally on ACTV, Cable Channel 180, and are available online in streamed live and on-demand formats. The Mayor and Commission holds other meetings as necessary.

Athens-Clarke County houses Magistrate, Juvenile, Municipal, Probate, State, and Superior courts. Superior Court covers the Western Judicial Circuit, which also includes Oconee County.

Mission Statement

Athens-Clarke County, an open and responsive government, facilitating a positive environment for individuals to obtain a high quality of life and local organizations to achieve success by providing innovative, high quality services and responsible stewardship of the community's resources, to benefit current and future generations (Adopted November 4, 1997).