Georgia State Law allows a fine of up to $1,000 for a misdemeanor littering offense (16-7-43 (b)(c))
Put Simply, Littering is a crime. In 2006 the Georgia General Assembly passed a new law known as the Comprehensive Litter Prevention and Abatement Act of 2006. The act improves the ability of law enforcement to punish litter offenders and clarifies complicated statutes related to litter.
The act establishes a clear definition of litter “Litter means any discarded or abandoned refuse, rubbish, junk, or other waste material” and established two classes of litter: litter and egregious litter.
Anyone caught littering in Georgia can be ordered to pay a fine of as much as $1,000 or more. Convicted litterers can also be ordered to clean up a littered area in a community.
The act holds the driver responsible for any litter leaving a vehicle.
Illegally dumping more than 500 pounds is considered a misdemeanor on the first offense. A second conviction is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $25,000 or a prison sentence of up to two years (or both).