Community Conversations with Mayor Kelly Girtz

Most months on the 4th Wednesday, beginning at 6:00 PM.

Next episode: Wednesday, March 24 on Economic Development with Ilka McConnell, Director of the ACCGov Economic Development Department.

The mayor is elected countywide for four-year terms for a maximum of two consecutive terms to serve as the head of the Athens-Clarke County Unified Government and the chair of the Commission.

The mayor’s duties include setting the agenda for Commission meetings; recommending candidates for the Athens-Clarke County positions of manager, attorney, Municipal Court judge, and internal auditor; and presenting the budget.