Adopt-A-Highway Group of the Year

Medlife at UGA

Along with myriad beautification projects, Keep Athens-Clarke County Beautiful administers the Adopt-A-Highway program for all county maintained roads.  With over 70 active Adopt-A-Highway groups in our county, KACCB honors the groups that routinely demonstrate their merit and comply with all the program’s established rules and requirements.

This year KACCB would like to recognize MEDLIFE at UGA as the 2021 Adopt-A-Highway group of the year! 

Although selecting what group performed best is always a difficult decision, after thoughtful review of the 2021 activity logs it became apparent that one Adopt-A-Highway group – MEDLIFE at UGA – was worthy of the recognition for all their effort and time.

MEDLIFE at UGA entered the Adopt-A-Highway program just over a year ago - in March 2021 – still in the midst of the pandemic. Yet, they did not let COVID hinder or impede their desire to make a difference in the community and keep a challenging and notoriously littered half-mile stretch of Bailey Street – off of Barnett Shoals Road – as litter-free as possible.

First-year groups, generally speaking, do not receive the Adopt-A-Highway Group of the Year Award, however, KACCB felt that MEDLIFE at UGA earned the honor for having conducted SIX litter clean-ups. That’s two more than all Adopt-A-Highway groups are required to conduct each calendar year. As a direct result of the efforts of their 48 hours of time, 24 bag of trash and 16 bags of recyclable materials were collected, removed, and properly disposed of. With three clean-ups already under their belt for 2022 and another scheduled to completed by the of the month, I’m confident MEDLIFE at UGA will yet again have an extraordinary year and excel in helping KACCB keep Athens clean and green.

medlife at uga 22 group of the year

Past Adopt-A-Highway Winners:

  • 2020    Falling Shoals Home Owner's Association
  • 2019    Dr. G's Creations
  • 2018    Bag the Bag UGA
  • 2017    ACC Police Department
  • 2016    Straight Blast Gym
  • 2015    Sigma Beta Rho
  • 2014    Bartenfeld Electric
  • 2013    Phi Theta Kappa (Athens Technical College)
  • 2012    UGA Department of Rec Sports
  • 2011    NORAMCO
  • 2010    IAAP (Athens Chapter International Association of Administrative Professionals)
  • 2009    UGA Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Student Ambassadors
  • 2008    Chicopee-Dudley Neighborhood Association
  • 2007    Lavender Glenn Homeowners Association
  • 2006    Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity