SPLOST Development

On November 2, 2004, Athens-Clarke County voters approved the SPLOST 2005 referendum that allowed for the continuation of a one-cent sales tax to fund a diverse list of 33 community improvement projects. In May 2005, the Mayor and Commission approved the funding allocation and scheduling of some 33 local improvement projects. The planning, design, and construction of the SPLOST projects are reviewed and approved by the Mayor and Commission at regularly scheduled meetings. Held at City Hall, these commission meetings are open to the public and televised locally on ACTV.

SPLOST 2005 Projects